BEVA Award winners


BEVA presented awards to some of the brightest and best in equine veterinary medicine at BEVA Congress on Thursday 12 September 2019.

Seven awards were presented in total, all established by BEVA, in conjunction with various sponsors, to reflect BEVA’s recognition of and support for significant accomplishments by equine vets and others involved in horse health and welfare.

The BEVA Equine Welfare Award sponsored by Blue Cross was awarded to Dr Suzanne Green for her tireless veterinary work to improve equine welfare

The BEVA Richard Hartley Clinical Award was presented to Dr Laura Mason for the paper Prophylactic therapy with omeprazole for prevention of equine gastric ulcer syndrome (EGUS) in horses in active training: A meta-analysis by L V Mason, J R Moroney & R J Mason.

The Peter Rossdale Equine Veterinary Journal (EVJ) Open Award was presented to Sonja Egan for the research paper Research trends in equine movement analysis, future opportunities and potential barriers in the digital age: A scoping review from 1978-2018 by S Egan, P Brama & D McGrath.

The Voorjaarsdagen and BEVA Awards were introduced in 2005 to mark the close relationship between the two Associations. The award is selected and presented biannually, once at the Voorjaarsdagen Congress and once at BEVA Congress, and is open to all those presenting a Clinical Research paper.

This year’s BEVA Award winner is Glenn Van Steenkiste DVM for his paper on A 12-lead electrocardiogram interpretation algorithm to determine the anatomical site of origin of atrial premature depolarisations in horses: preliminary data.

This year’s winner  for The EVJ Literary Award for Video Abstracts is Dr Elaine Norton for her video abstract Heritability of metabolic traits associated with equine metabolic syndrome in Welsh ponies and Morgan horses by E. M. Norton, N. E. Schultz, A. K. Rendahl, D. Mcfarlane, R. J. Geor, J. R. Mickelson & M. E. McCue.

The winner of the Sam Hignett Award for the best clinical research presentation from general equine practice at BEVA Congress 2019 will be announced after Congress.

Images: David Boughey

Posted in